Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 6th, 2009

And a void in my gourmet-wannabee heart. Evidently I wasn’t the only one taken by surprise–Editor-in-Chief Ruth Reichl was “stunned.” After being an institution in the culinary world for 70 years, you would think the revered magazine would be immune to such drastic measures but Owner Conde Nast has a second acclaimed culinary magazine, Bon Appetit, in its fold and Bon Appetit has outshone its sister magazine in recent years. Talk about sibling rivalry.

I received what will now be my last issue in the mail a few weeks ago. I haven’t yet had time to go through it. I like to savor the time I have with it–to take note of the ads, go through the writers bylines (a habit peculiar to journalists), look at the beautiful photography and read why they chose to go with one picture over another. The magazine was a feast for the eyes as well as the taste buds. It brought calmness and clarity to my soul. It will be missed.

Read Full Post »